The Law Office of Jeffery A. April, Esquire
contact us for quick responses to your legal questions
Toll-free: 800-724-7232 Local: 609-736-2203
E-Mail Us Today Click Here

The penalty for driving under the influence in New Jersey

In the state of New Jersey, just the same as the rest of the country, driving under the influence is a serious crime.

Simply put, if you're operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or above, you are considered by the law to be under the influence.

If you find yourself in trouble with the law, you need to understand the penalties that could come your way as the result of a conviction. Here's what you need to know:

  • First offense: Three-month license suspension, $250 to $400 fine, up to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center and up to 30 days in jail. The penalties can be more severe if your BAC level is .10 percent or above.
  • Second offense: Two-year license suspension, $500 to $1,000 fine, 30 days community service, up to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center and up to 90 days in jail.
  • Third offense: 10-year license suspension, $1,000 fine, up to 90 days community service, up to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center and up to 180 days in jail.

As you can see, even a first offense conviction can change your life in many ways. In addition to the financial impact, you may find it difficult to complete your job or go to school if you don't have a license.

With so many penalties staring you in the face, it's important to learn more about your legal rights and how to implement the right defense strategy as your case moves forward.

Source: New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, "NJ Facts: driving under the influence (DUI) point system," accessed Dec. 07, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

200 South Shore Road
Marmora, NJ 08223

Toll Free: 800-724-7232
Phone: 609-736-2203
Fax: 609-390-9363
Marmora Law Office Map